World’s smallest puppy and other interesting records.

31 03 2012

As I scroll through countless pages on the internet, there are rarely images or articles that simply make me stop everything and say “ Aweeee”. Today I came upon a short article that did just that. Three weeks ago California’s Grace Foundation rescued a dog that gave birth to what is now said to be the world’s smallest puppy. The 28.3 gram creature was stillborn, but was administered CPR and saved. The tiny dog is a mix of a Dachshund, a Miniature Pinscher and a Chihuahua. The puppy was named Beyonce, after her song “Survivor” and now awaits to turn 1, so that she can be considered for the Guinness World Records. I imagine that having such a small size will make the puppy’s life more dangerous, because she will be harder to spot and probably has a weaker body. But with the right care and treatment, she can become a true dog celebrity.

Image

After reading this article and “awing” I decided to check out some other cool Guinness World Records. Here are some that I found interesting:

  • Loudest Purr by a Domestic Cat: The purr was measured at 86.3+ decibils from one meter away, which is similar to the sound of city traffic from inside a car. Though it may not be super loud, if my cat purred that loud, I know she would be spending a lot less time in my room and more in my backyard.
  • Most Big Macs consumed: A USA citizen has consumed 23 000 Big Macs over the last 37 years. It may sound cool but that must be extremely unhealthy. To be honest I am surprised he is still not hospitalized.

In general many of the records I saw were pretty random and not that interesting, but there is always an exception when you see something and have an unexpected reaction. One day it would be nice to see a record like “most scientific discoveries made by one scientist” or “most patients cured by one doctor”….and who knows, maybe the person will be me (one can always hope ).

Sources:

http://www.montrealgazette.com/life/Beyonce+world+tiniest+puppy/6385034/story.html

http://www.guinnessworldrecords.com/

Actions

Information

One response

4 04 2012
megannantel

This little guy is so cute!! I love looking through records too! When I was little I even tried to measure my cat to see if she broke any records! LOL
There probably are records for scientists but since they’re so much more prestigious they’re probably more like honors or statistics!

Leave a Reply

